Contact Info

Governor Daugaard Awards Block Grants to Six Communities

Friday, November 15, 2013

PIERRE, S.D. – Gov. Dennis Daugaard awarded nearly $2.5 million in Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds to six South Dakota communities. The money, awarded to Chancellor, Clark, Gregory, Irene, South Shore and White Lake, will assist with projects totaling more than $13.2 million.

“These projects cover a wide range of construction and rehabilitation of sewer and sanitary systems that will vastly improve the infrastructure in these communities,” Gov. Daugaard said. “I am pleased to award these funds for projects that continue to improve the vitality of our communities.”

The CDBG awards:

  • Chancellor was awarded $412,000 to rehabilitate sections of its aging sanitary sewer system throughout the town in order to reduce Inflow/Infiltration to the collection system.
  • Clark will use a $515,000 grant to help construct a total retention wastewater treatment facility to replace its existing mechanical wastewater treatment plant and outfall line discharge.
  • Gregory will use a $157,500 grant to replace about five blocks of sewer main that are in danger of collapse in two different parts of the city.
  • The City of Irene was awarded a $515,000 grant to replace water and wastewater lines.
  • South Shore will use a $515,000 grant to rehabilitate the existing retention ponds. The community will use cast in place relining plus sewer main replacement to solve the infiltration and inflow problems with the town’s sanitary sewer collection system and install a new force main.
  • White Lake will apply a $370,000 grant for infrastructure improvements.

The CDBG program provides local governments with funding to complete projects to improve living conditions. The CDBG program is funded through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and administered by the Governor’s Office of Economic Development.

For more information about the CDBG program and other financing programs offered through the GOED, please visit

Media Contact

Members of the media requesting more information should contact Mary Lehecka Nelson at or (605) 773-3301.