Contact Info

Gov. Daugaard Seeking Nominations for Economic Development Awards

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

PIERRE, S.D. – Gov. Dennis Daugaard is seeking nominations for the Community of the Year and Excellence in Economic Development awards which will be presented at the 2014 Governor’s Economic Development Conference in Sioux Falls, April 15-16, 2014.

“The Community of the Year Award and the Excellence in Economic Development Award are two very prestigious awards,” said Gov. Daugaard. “It is always a pleasure to recognize and reward people for their hard work and dedication. I encourage the public to nominate communities and volunteers that have gone above and beyond the call of duty.”

The Community of the Year award was established in 1988 and is presented each year to a community that has demonstrated leadership in the area of economic development. The award recognizes achievement, innovation and growth resulting from community efforts. Two communities are chosen, one large (5,000 or more) and one small (less than 5,000). The winning communities each receive a $2,000 cash prize to be used for an economic development project in their respective communities.

The Governor’s Excellence in Economic Development Award was established in 1993 to honor the dedication and commitment of eight South Dakotans who lost their lives returning home from an economic development trip. Businesses and individuals across the state helped finance this award in honor of those who died: Gov. George S. Mickelson, Roland Dolly, Ron Reed, Angus Anson, David Birkeland, Roger Hainje and pilots Dave Hanson and Ron Becker. This award recognizes one South Dakotan who has committed his or her time and energy to make South Dakota a better place to work and live. Nominees must be volunteers in the area of economic development. A $2,000 cash prize will be awarded to the award recipient’s respective community.

Anyone interested in placing a nomination is encouraged to use the nomination forms found at the South Dakota Governor’s Office of Economic Development’s (GOED) website, The deadline for nominations for both awards is Monday, Feb. 10, 2014.

Media Contact

Members of the media requesting more information should contact Natalie Likness at or (605) 773-3301.